jump to navigation

italian detergent October 9, 2008

Posted by adterzieva in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1I35JuEJ79U

When I first saw this ad I couldn’t believe that it was ever aired on national television. This ad can be seen as very offensive not only to the obvious which is the black population but also Italian man. First black people can see it as being inappropriate because it separates their race from another. The subject of racial difference is all ready an sensitive topic for many people, to just post up a commercial like this one can start many disagreements on both Italian race and the black race. Second, Italian man can see it as offensive because it makes all Italian males look like dorks that can not satisfy their women, that wear their “tightie whities”, and have no sense of style.

To make this commercial more sensitive I think the company would have to throw away some of the racial stereotyping that’s in it. Having the black male pop up of the laundry and right after it saying “black is better” can be seen as humorous to some people but very offensive to others, therefore taking it off the ad might make it a little more appropriate. Rather then having that statement out there they could use other techniques to make this ad funny and appealing to viewers. Advertiser should have been able to see how this ad would race problems. It is not ethical to stereotype if the first place but to make it that obvious is a little out of hand.

In addiction to make this ad more proper the company could have compared something different like a woman doing here laundry in a black and white scene and as she is doing that, she looks unpleased and disappointed. In later scene the same girl doing the laundry in a colored scene looking very happy and pleased with her man right next to her. There are many way this commercial could have been successful without using racial differences like the difference between “colored race” and “Caucasian race”

An ad that I think could have been seen as problematic is the ad that Britney Spears had for her perfume. The ad was looked at too sexy and promiscuous. It had Britney rolling around bed with barely any cloths with this guy. Many people can find it as offensive because of their religious believes or values. A lot of people talked about it and thought it was inappropriate. Personally I did not have any problems with it because the channels and the time this ad was played did not really reach young audience.

Comments»

1. tia1802 - October 15, 2008

I cannot believe this ad!! I was so speechless, once I finished watching this. I am an African American woman and I just couldn’t imagine an ad like this airing in the U.S! Talk about a protest! Not only was I offended but I was disappointed that people can be so ignorant. I agree with you one hundred percent that this ad is offensive and not very considerate of the feelings of the different race groups in this ad. I really do like your idea of the “black and white” commercial, I think that would have been effective and showed what the product was all about.

2. pitst74 - October 18, 2008

I have veiwed this ad more than once, and I don’t really think that it is offensive to bladk people as much as I think it demeans the caucasion race. First of all, this guy is very scroony looking and pale. And to top it off he has on white breifs and white socks as you know she is doing white clothes in her laundry. The fact of that a black man appears from the washer is hilarious in the nature that it is an italian commercial. so I can see where this ad never went national because to me it can be mistaken the wrong way but to me it was funny and not very effective. Hopefuuly it wasn’t run for long if at all.

3. Anthony - October 22, 2008

I have viewed this add a few times. In my opinion this add is not really inappropriate but instead very funny. This add is not really hurting the African American if anything its a complement. If anything this add is making fun of white guys and the stereotype that goes along with them. This add is a little bit too risky and offensive to most people so i think showing what the product does in a different way would be a good idea. At the same time if someone sees this add their going to remember it that’s for sure so if this target market does not find it offensive then the commercial works well.

4. adterzieva - October 24, 2008

Now that I think about it more Anthony I would have to agree with you about the statement that this ad could be more offensive to white guys.
Something that I didn’t mention in my post is that there is Italian detergent ad #2. Now, if you look at this ad you would be able to see where a black girl would have been offended by it. In the commercial, there is a man looking at a magazine and on the cover there is a black girl dressed in skimpy cloths. This is all my opinion, but in the second ad the black girl could be seen as being sleazy which could rise a lot f issues.

5. lakeishareynolds - October 24, 2008

I somewhat agree with you. While viewing this particular ad I believe it to be a little risky; it could also be thought of as offensive. When first looking at the ad I originally thought it was funny. While also thinking that the them saying “colored is better” is out of line. If anyone has noticed they even changed the background music which is also somewhat offensive.

6. rdduskin - October 29, 2008

This ad was nothing short of what one would see on a Mad TV or a SNL. It was somewhat humorous, but I can see how some would easily be offended by it. If it were in the US it would be banned and you’d hear from Jesse Jackson or Al Sharpton. In other countries they look at race totally different.

7. abmeyer - October 29, 2008

You have to be aware of the cultural differances between America and Italy. Im pretty sure if this ad was to be showed in America it would not make it past the script writing, but remeber that race is not such a big issue in other countries so it could be mostly acceptable in Italy.

8. mrbuffalo1987 - October 30, 2008

After watching this ad I did not see anything offensive about it. They are not knocking African Americans at all and I would agree if anything they just complimented them as someone else mentioned above. I don’t see it knocking Italians at all either (maybe white men in general?). It maybe an Italian commercial, but there is no real hint of it being Italian until you read the label on the box of detergent. It is a funny ad that gets your attention and just makes you laugh.

9. mrbuffalo1987 - October 30, 2008

The Britney Spears perfume commercial was only using sex to sell. It was an attempt for Britney to make that “big comeback”. She is a mother, just wait until her children see that and ask, “Mommy, what are you doing in that commercial?” She’ll have fun explaining it seemed like a good idea to sell perfume that smelled bad to begin with. Is this truely being aimed at women I ask? I mean yeah there is a man with her, but aren’t men more interested in a half naked Britney Spears? If Britney wants to sell perfume and be respectable then she needs to work on changing the commercials and more importantly how everyone views her as a celebrity who lost her kids to another bad parent K Fed.

10. lakeishareynolds - October 30, 2008

In some ways I agree with you. While viewing this particular ad I believe it to be a little risky; it could also be thought of as offensive. When first looking at the ad I originally thought it was funny. While at the same time thinking that the them saying “colored is better” is out of line. If anyone has noticed they even changed the background music which also is making it somewhat offensive.

11. Reginald Wheeler - October 30, 2008

I don’t think the Italian detergent ad was offensive as it was funny. I think the concept was catchy and meant to create a couple of laughs. I think the perception of the person who may view this ad may vary. I do agree that an ad like will create alot of backlash an offend lots of Americans since we seem to be more sensitive to racism than other cultures.

12. Reginald Wheeler - October 30, 2008

I think the Britney Spears perfume ad was too sexual. It wasn’t convincing enough to sell me on the product by itself without the sex appeal which was disturbing enough.But the ad leads me to think there was no consideration given to the demographic that this product is targeted to who just happen to be females in their teens. As a parent of a teenager this could be a huge concern for me.

13. jdvaughn - October 31, 2008

this ad is way over the top.

14. jdvaughn - October 31, 2008

im not African American or Italian and i find it very offensive. very poor strategic planning was used. horrible advertisment after watching this i will make sure i never use this product.

now as for the Britney Spears i dont see any problem with the ads and after watching them i want my girlfriend to wear it and be sexy. also britney spears is know for being crazy and crossing the line so by removing it from tv i feel like more people took the time to look it up online to watch. It made it better because you wear it to be sexy and hot and when they banned it from tv being to sexy thats just like adding to the fire.


Leave a Reply

